Necessary documentation

Citizens of all European countries and the EEA (European Economic Area) — Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Croatia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Iceland, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malta, Norway, Netherlands, Portugal, Czech Republic, Romania, Spain, Switzerland, and Hungary — can enter Italy without a visa.

Visa-exempt countries Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Vatican City, Costa Rica, Croatia, Colombia, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Hong Kong, Israel, Japan, Macau, Malaysia, Mexico, Monaco, Nicaragua, New Zealand, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Republic of Korea, San Marino, Switzerland, Singapore, Uruguay, USA, and Venezuela. For stays of less than 90 days, citizens can enter Italy with a passport.

Other Countries Citizens from countries outside the European Community must visit the Italian Embassy in their own country or consult the "Consular Services and Visas" webpage of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs: Consular Services and visas